canopy

20130222-085516.jpg

This was one of the strangest things I’ve ever seen… So the frost has pushed up most of the dirt on top of the needle ice, but then it has what looks like icicles coming off of that! You can see tiny strands of ice flowing down..like icicles!

It looks like a canopy of dirt (and icicles) set on the needle ice… It was kind of hard to get that effect of a ‘canopy’ that I was looking for. I should have done a little clear cutting to really get inside there (maybe tomorrow I’ll get out my chainsaw! lol)

20130222-085547.jpg

And it was pretty deep I thought… for frost! Two inches or so?

A few observations.. the dirt that is being pushed up here isn’t actually from a field like most, it’s just off the street. What does that mean? Well, when it gets super windy, like it was a few weeks ago, the lighter dirt gets blown around more and obviously accumulates somewhere… in this case, up against the curb or wooden barrier that holds in another field of dirt.  This isn’t quite the needle ice you see in most places I think, this looks much more frail and seemingly more spaced out than much of the needle ice you might normally see.

I wasn’t really trying to take pictures of frost today… I was looking at the sun first, and then looked down and saw this!

7 thoughts on “canopy

  1. Hi Brent, First , thanks for stopping by and liking my most recent post. Regarding your soil and ice photo. I think this is quite significant……from a consciousness perspective, light, (the sun, as you wrote in your post above) caused you to look down at the play of structure (soil) and chaos (water affected by temperature, thus affecting the structure) Without chaos in our lives, chaos that invariably comes to affect the structures man builds, we’d have no precipice from which to see other opportunities of consciousness that we are given by spiritual light to see. I think this photo YOU TOOK, is a great example of how your quick, active and very intelligent mind is helping you to expand creativity. God Bless.

Leave a comment