January 2022

Ride to Kasai Rinkai Koen 葛西臨海公園

Kicking off 2022 with a ride to Chiba, just across Arakawa river, but counts as a ride into Chiba.

Met Jon near the usual corner, then rode up Route 1 to meet Kazu and Nobu in Kawasaki before heading up to Tokyo. Good lunch at a cafe in near Asakusa (which we dropped by real quick for a few photos), and then took a few wrong turns once we got to the river. Allowed us to get some decent pictures of the highway in the picture above.

Sure was a lot of traffic lights getting through Tokyo though. It was good to get a ride like that out of the way first of the year. On the way home, once we cleared Kawasaki, we were able to get a few stretches where we could keep some pace and not have to stop every 300meters for a red light. That was nice.

Last year I managed to ride just over 10,000km, which I hadn’t originally planned, but once I got to about 8,500km, I thought I could get 10k (it had always been a New Years Resolution; to ride 10k km).

And part is of resolution, including this year is to do some specific rides and areas. So at the beginning of year last year, I put together a bunch of rides I would liked to have ridden. I got all of them except for a few. But just just means I have to do it again this year. All the ones I did last year, and all the ones I didn’t get. I’m sure I’ll add a few more along the way too. (I’ve already ticked off a couple!)

Bucket List Rides 2022

  • 三浦半島
  • ✅足柄峠 – 万葉うどん
  • ヤビツ峠 – 宮ヶ瀬ダム
  • 高尾山 – 相模湖
  • 箱根 – 芦ノ湖 – 仙石原
  • 箱根 – 湯河原
  • 千葉 – 房総半島
  • 荒川 上り
  • 多摩川 上り
  • 宮ヶ瀬ダム
  • 丹沢湖
  • 道志道 – 山中湖
  • 富士山
  • 和田峠
  • 都民の森
  • 湾一周 (久里浜ー金谷 ride up to/through Tokyo)
  • 伊豆半島 – 沼津から下田
  • 輪行(行き) ride home, +160km
  • 輪行(帰り) ride to.., +160km
  • 200km+ ride
  • 300km+ ride
  • 500km+ week
  • 1000km+ /month
  • 1200km+ /month
  • 1,250km month
  • Three Prefectures (Kanagawa, Tokyo, Chiba,
  • Saitama, Yamanashi, Shizuoka)
  • Kanagawa, Tokyo, Saitama
  • ✅Kanagawa, Tokyo, Chiba
  • Tokyo, Kanagawa, Yamanashi
  • Tokyo, Kanagawa, Shizuoka
  • Kanagawa, Yamanashi, Shizuoka

And here is the fastest summary of the rides I did last year.

Leave a comment