1012.282

IMG_4751

Taco Bell Japan.  The first Taco Bell came to Japan last week.  There was a TWO hour wait that first day.  It only got marginally better after nearly a week… 1 hour 10 mins.

But the big question, does it taste like home?  The hard shell tacos, yes. The rest. no. If you’re craving tacos, specifically Taco Bell tacos, then you have nowhere else to go! If you want decent Mexican food, I would recommend somewhere better than this! I could certainly spend my $11 on something better that this!

  • Chicken Fajita Burrito (set, 760 yen). You get a drink (free refills), and a choice of fries or chips (both, nacho flavor)
  • Crunchy beef taco (270 yen)

Actually, I ordered CHIPS, not fries.  And I also ordered a Taco Supreme, you know, it’s got sour cream and tomatoes on it. Obviously the one I got didn’t.  I only realized after I ate it, and was looking at my pictures again…and the receipt.

Considering they only have SEVEN items on the menu, you’d think they’d be able to get through the line up pretty quickly… I guess they need to streamline something a little better.

Like, maybe it would just be better if one person made up one person’s order.  They had a bunch of guys in the back, but I have no idea how they got it all together…

So first, as a customer, you choose your product (burrito, taco, taco salad, etc), then you choose your meat (beef, chicken, pork), and then you choose the spiciness (mild, medium, hot). Has it always been like that?  I just remember it was all mild, then they would give you packets of hot sauce, and you got as many as you liked.

There were plenty of seats open downstairs (74 total seats), but nearly half were empty. Which means, that the set up to get people their food was too slow.  When we left, there was still a line up outside which was pretty comparable to the line up when we got there at 11:40am.

Other than that, the atmosphere was good, there were wall chargers to charge your phone, plug in your computer, or whatever, at nearly every seat (all the counter seats had their own outlet).  The staff were friendly, although I didn’t even bother to bring up the order mistake. I didn’t want to wait another 30 mins for a taco I didn’t really need. Maybe I should have.

All in all, it’s just fast food. And maybe it’s something to say you did, or went to. Kind of like when Krispy Kreme first came to Japan… yea, it’s all good, but unless you’re really craving for a taste of home, I’d just assume NOT wait in line for an hour (or more!)

 

 

IMG_4757 IMG_4756

Leave a Reply

